Welcome Remarks

This Report provides an overview of significant developments of the Judiciary in 2023.

The year of 2023 marked Hong Kong’s return to normalcy as the COVID-19 pandemic alleviated and waned. The Judiciary was thus able to fully resume normal court business without the restrictions of previous years. The Judiciary, steadfastly committed to upholding the rule of law and judicial independence in Hong Kong under the “One Country, Two Systems” arrangement, continued to make concerted efforts towards enhancing the effective and efficient administration of justice despite the challenges the pandemic brought.

The effectiveness and efficiency of the administration of justice is dependent upon the number and the quality of judges and judicial officers. In response to the continued shortfall in judicial manpower, the Judiciary launched open recruitment exercises and has pro-actively promoted judicial careers to legal professionals in order to attract Hong Kong’s best and brightest to the Bench.

Counting the five judicial appointments made in 2023, there are now 160 substantive judges and judicial officers serving at all levels of court. Around 40 deputy judges and judicial officers appointed from the legal profession also sit at different levels of court at any one time. Notably, one new Non-Permanent Judge from another common law jurisdiction was appointed to the Court of Final Appeal in 2023.

The enhancement of the professional qualities of Hong Kong’s judges and judicial officers remains a priority for the Judiciary. With the abatement of pandemic-related restrictions, the Judiciary has been able to organise and participate in a rich and diverse array of judicial training and exchange programmes with the Mainland and overseas jurisdictions, on top of the regular and core training programmes arranged by the Hong Kong Judicial Institute.

Four judicial exchanges and court visit programmes to Beijing, the Greater Bay Area and Macao were held in 2023. These included the Seventh Seminar of Senior Judges of Cross Strait and Hong Kong and Macao in Macao in September 2023, as well as an exchange programme for 17 judges and judicial officers in collaboration with the National Judges College in October 2023. The Judiciary has also launched an attachment programme in collaboration with the Supreme People's Court (“the SPC”). Under this programme, Mainland judges will be attached to Hong Kong courts and vice versa in order to enhance understanding of each other’s judicial system and court operations, primarily in civil and commercial proceedings. In the inaugural exchange, three Mainland judges were attached to the High Court between mid-September and mid-December 2023.

In addition to the aforementioned exchanges with the Mainland and other parts of the country, representatives from the Hong Kong Judiciary also attended the Asia Pacific Judicial Colloquium in New Zealand in March 2023, where we engaged in professional exchanges on a broad range of subjects with our common law counterparts from Australia, Canada, New Zealand and Singapore. Hong Kong’s judges and judicial officers also participated in other judicial conferences, seminars and exchange activities held locally, in the Mainland and overseas. The Judiciary also received judges and visitors from the legal sector and senior government officials from the Mainland, Brunei, Azerbaijan, Indonesia, Papua New Guinea and Qatar in 2023.

The Judiciary’s series of seminars on Chinese law and the legal and judicial system in the Mainland continued with a seminar in March 2023 on “The Civil Code of the People's Republic of China”. In June 2023, the Judiciary was able to resume its talks by Non-Permanent Judges of the Court of Final Appeal with a talk entitled “Sir Edward Coke and the Common Law”, delivered by the Hon Mr Justice Patrick KEANE, Non-Permanent Judge of the Court of Final Appeal.

Turning to Judiciary operations, the Judiciary continued to cope with the challenges of a persistently heavy caseload. In 2023, this workload was compounded by a significant number of court proceedings which had been postponed from previous years due to the reduced capacity of the courts during the pandemic, as well as an increasing number of complex criminal cases that took longer to process. Despite these challenges, with the concerted efforts of all judges and judicial officers, and our dedicated support staff, optimum use was made of the limited available manpower and facilities, and the Judiciary was able to process an overall caseload comparable to that of 2019, before the outbreak of the pandemic.

The Judiciary continued to prioritise the processing of the about 2 500 cases related to the 2019 anti-extradition amendment bill incidents (“anti-EAB cases”) and national security (“NS cases”). While new cases continued to be brought to court in 2023, around 90% of these cases have now been concluded. At present, efforts are being dedicated to handling NS cases at the High Court and outstanding anti-EAB cases at the District Court, many of which are complex criminal cases involving long trials. At the same time, the Judiciary has been processing thousands of cases in relation to non-refoulement claims at the High Court expeditiously through multi-pronged measures.

To cater for the Judiciary’s short- and longer-term operational needs, we have been constructing new and additional courtrooms, as well as supporting facilities. Four new courtrooms were commissioned in the Wanchai Tower in 2023, with nine more expected to be commissioned in the High Court Building and the Revenue Tower in 2024. With the future needs of Hong Kong in mind, construction works on a new District Court Building at Caroline Hill Road for reprovisioning and co-locating the District Court, the Family Court and the Lands Tribunal are now underway. The new building is expected to be completed in 2026 for commissioning in 2027.

With the increased use of information and communication systems during the pandemic, the Judiciary has deepened its commitment to making greater and wider use of technology in enhancing the efficiency of court operations. We have been implementing the integrated Court Case Management System (“iCMS”) in phases to handle court-related documents and payments electronically, starting with the District Court and the Magistrates’ Courts in 2022. The Judiciary aims to roll out the iCMS incrementally in the Court of Final Appeal, the High Court, the non-summons cases of the Magistrates’ Courts and the Small Claims Tribunal starting in 2024. Ultimately, we intend to mandate the use of iCMS for all legally represented litigants within a target timeframe. The Judiciary will thus consult the legal profession and other stakeholders on the implementation of such mandatory arrangements.

The Judiciary is committed to continuing to make greater and better use of court-technology initiatives, including e-bundles for court hearings, remote hearings for appropriate cases, e-appointments for specific court services, and a digital evidence and exhibits handling system, as and when appropriate. The introduction of such initiatives must of course be carefully balanced against any potential security issues.

The Judiciary has also been testing voice recognition software, particularly in respect of the accuracy of voice recognition for court hearings in English and Cantonese. We have started to promulgate the use of this technology for judges and judicial officers for taking notes during court proceedings. The Judiciary will continue to monitor this technology and developments in its quality, with a view to optimising its use in preparing transcripts in future.

Separately, the Judiciary will launch a trial run of live broadcasting of two court proceedings from the Court of Final Appeal to the public in January 2024. Live broadcasting of court proceedings enhances the transparency of court procedures and public confidence in the judicial process. We understand that not all proceedings are inherently suitable for live broadcasting – hence the need to take account of the results of this trial run to draw up guiding principles and implementation practicalities for a longer-term pilot scheme some time in 2024.

A number of important legislative and procedural initiatives also emerged in 2023. First, and in connection with the deepening commitment to technological innovation, the Judiciary has been developing the draft Courts (Remote Hearing) Bill to enable both civil and criminal courts to conduct remote hearings when appropriate. In conducting remote hearings, the courts will consider all the relevant circumstances, as well as the dual requirements of open justice and fairness. Having undertaken a public consultation and sought views from the Panel on Administration of Justice and Legal Services of the Legislative Council, the Judiciary is pleased to report the Bill is being finalised, with a view to its introduction into the Legislative Council some time in 2024.

Second, the Family Procedure Ordinance, which provides the statutory basis for a consolidated set of procedural rules to enhance the efficiency and cost-effectiveness of the family justice system, was passed by the Legislative Council in June 2023. The Family Procedure Rules Committee established under the Ordinance is now preparing the draft procedural rules. A new Masters system was also established in the Family Court under the Ordinance in October 2023, with Family Masters empowered to handle certain procedural matters in family-related proceedings so as to alleviate the heavy workload of the Family Judges.

On mutual legal assistance between Mainland and Hong Kong courts, the Chief Judge of the High Court made rules in November 2023 to provide for the practices and procedures for reciprocal recognition and enforcement of judgments in civil and commercial matters by Hong Kong and Mainland courts. These rules will come into operation on 29 January 2024. At the same time, the Judiciary will continue to work closely with the Government and the SPC on improving the implementation of existing mutual legal assistance arrangements with the Mainland, in particular, the arrangements for the mutual service of judicial documents in civil and commercial proceedings between the two jurisdictions.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank members of the community, the Government and the Legislative Council for their invaluable support for the work of the Judiciary. I would also like to express my gratitude to my fellow judges and judicial officers, as well as the staff in the Judiciary for their dedication towards the administration of justice and professionalism in meeting the challenges this year, and the years ahead.

Andrew CHEUNG
Chief Justice

歡迎辭

本報告概述司法機構於2023年的重要發展。

隨著2019冠狀病毒病疫情緩解,2023年標誌著香港復常。因此,司法機構的法庭事務得以全面恢復正常,不受往年的限制。在「一國兩制」下,司法機構無懼疫情帶來的種種挑戰,堅定維護香港的法治和司法獨立,並繼續同心協力地致力提高司法工作的成效和效率。

司法工作的成效和效率,取決於法官和司法人員的人數及質素。為應對司法人手持續短缺的問題,司法機構已展開公開招聘,並積極向法律專業人士推廣司法事業,以吸引香港的頂尖優秀人才加入法官行列。

計及於2023年作出的五項司法任命,司法機構各級法院現時共有160名實任法官和司法人員;另約有40名從法律界任命的暫委法官和司法人員,於同一時間在不同級別的法院工作。我們也在2023年就終審法院新任命了一名其他普通法適用地區非常任法官。

提升香港法官和司法人員的專業質素,仍然是司法機構的首要任務。隨著與疫情相關的限制消除,除了香港司法學院安排的常規和核心培訓課程外,司法機構得以舉辦和參與內地和海外司法管轄區多元的司法培訓和交流活動。

2023年,司法機構共舉行了四次到訪北京、大灣區及澳門的司法交流和參訪法院活動。當中包括2023年9月在澳門舉行的第七屆海峽兩岸暨香港澳門司法高層論壇,以及2023年10月與國家法官學院合辦有17名法官和司法人員參加的交流活動。另外,司法機構亦與最高人民法院合作,展開交流計劃,安排內地及香港法官到對方的法院交流,藉此加深了解彼此的司法制度和法院運作(主要是民商事法律程序)。在首階段的計劃,我們安排了三名內地法官於2023年9月中至12月中到高等法院進行交流。

除了上述與內地及國家其他地區的交流外,香港司法機構的代表亦於2023年3月參與在新西蘭舉行的亞太區司法學術研討會,與來自澳洲、加拿大、新西蘭及新加坡等普通法適用地區的法官就廣泛課題進行專業交流。香港的法官和司法人員亦參與了其他在本地、內地及海外舉行的司法會議、研討會及交流活動。司法機構於2023年亦接待了來自內地、文萊、阿塞拜疆、印度尼西亞、巴布亞新畿內亞及卡塔爾的法官、法律界人士及高級政府官員。

司法機構繼續安排一系列有關中國法律及司法制度的專題講座,於2023年3月舉辦關於《中華人民共和國民法典》的研討會。2023年6月,司法機構亦復辦由終審法院非常任法官主講的講座 - 由終審法院非常任法官祈顯義主講,題為「愛德華·科克爵士與普通法」。

至於運作方面,司法機構繼續在2023年應對案件量持續龐大的挑戰。過往數年的疫情令法庭可處理的事務減少, 因而導致法庭聆訊被押後。加上需要較長時間處理的複雜刑事案件數量上升,使工作量更為繁重。縱使挑戰重重,全體法官和司法人員以及一眾忠誠的支援人員仍然同心協力,充分善用有限的人手和設施,令司法機構所處理的整體案件量能與2019年疫情爆發前的水平相若。

司法機構繼續優先處理約2 500宗與2019年反逃犯條例修訂事件相關的案件(「反修例案件」)及與國家安全相關的案件(「國安案件」)。儘管2023年繼續有新案件提交法院審理,但整體案件中約90%已經結案。目前,我們正致力處理高等法院的國安案件,及餘下尚待區域法院審理的反修例案件,其中許多為涉及長審期的複雜刑事案件。與此同時,司法機構持續透過多管齊下的措施,加快處理高等法院數千宗與免遣返聲請相關的案件。

為配合司法機構短期和長遠的運作需要,我們正建設新增的法庭及支援設施。2023年,灣仔政府大樓有四個新法庭啟用。展望2024年,我們預計另有九個位於高等法院大樓和稅務大樓的法庭啟用。考慮到香港未來的需要,在加路連山道興建新區域法院大樓的工程現正進行中,以重置區域法院、家事法庭和土地審裁處於同一地點。新大樓預計在2026年竣工,並於2027年啟用。

隨著資訊及通訊系統的使用在疫情期間愈趨增加,司法機構致力更深入和更廣泛地推動使用科技,以提升法院運作的效率。我們正分階段推行綜合法院案件管理系統(「綜合系統」),以電子方式處理法庭相關文件及付款事宜。綜合系統已於2022年率先在區域法院及裁判法院推行,並將從2024年起逐步推展至終審法院、高等法院、裁判法院非傳票案件及小額錢債審裁處。我們的最終目標是在特定的期限後規定所有有律師代表的訴訟人必須使用綜合系統。就此,我們將會就落實有關的強制安排,諮詢法律業界及其他持份者的意見。

司法機構繼續在合適情況下,更廣泛地善用法庭科技措施,包括在法庭聆訊中使用電子文件冊、在合適的案件中使用遙距聆訊、為特定的法庭服務引入電子預約安排,以及使用數碼證據及證物處理系統。我們在推出這些措施時,定必小心平衡風險因素,防範任何潛在的保安問題。

司法機構亦繼續測試語音辨識軟件,特別是英語和粵語法庭聆訊的語音識別準確度。我們已開始推行使用此項技術,支援法官及司法人員在法庭程序中撰寫筆記。司法機構會繼續留意此項技術及其效能的發展,以期未來可善用此項技術製備法庭聆訊紀錄。

另外,司法機構會在2024年1月試行公開現場直播兩場終審法院法庭程序。現場直播法庭程序可增加法庭程序的透明度及加強公眾對司法程序的信心,但並非所有司法程序均適合現場直播。因此,有需要參考這次試播的結果來制訂指導原則及施行細節,以供在2024年的適當時間進行較長期的試行計劃。

司法機構亦於2023年展開多項涉及立法和訴訟程序方面的重要工作。首先,因應我們銳意善用科技推動創新,司法機構已著手制訂《法院(遙距聆訊)條例草案》草擬本,使民事和刑事法庭可在合適的情況下進行遙距聆訊。在進行遙距聆訊時,法庭會考慮所有相關的情況,並顧及司法公開和公正兩大原則。我們已完成公眾諮詢,亦已向立法會司法及法律事務委員會徵詢意見。我們欣然匯報,該《條例草案》的内容已大致定稿,並擬於2024年的適當時間提交立法會審議。

第二,立法會於2023年6月通過了《家事訴訟程序條例》。該條例為訂立一套整合的程序規則提供法律基礎,從而提升家事司法制度的效率和成本效益。根據該條例而成立的家事訴訟程序規則委員會現正草擬程序規則。2023年10月,新的家事法庭聆案官制度亦根據該條例而設立,該制度賦權家事法庭的聆案官處理家事法律程序中的若干程序事宜,藉此緩減家事法官的沉重工作量。

在內地與香港法院相互司法協助方面,高等法院首席法官於2023年11月訂立規則,就香港與內地法院相互認可和執行民商事判決的常規及程序作出規定。這套規則將於2024年1月29日生效。與此同時,司法機構會繼續與政府當局及最高人民法院緊密聯繫,改善現時與內地相互司法協助的多項安排,特別是兩地相互委托送達民商事司法文書的安排。

我謹藉此機會,多謝社會大眾、政府及立法會對司法機構工作的寶貴支持。我亦向各位法官和司法人員同儕,以及司法機構的所有員工致謝,感謝他們盡心竭力投入司法工作,以專業態度迎接今年乃至未來多年的各種挑戰。

終審法院首席法官
張舉能