Welcome Remarks

This Report provides an overview of the major events of the Judiciary in 2022.

The year of 2022 is the 25th anniversary of the establishment of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (“HKSAR”). Under the “One Country, Two Systems” arrangement, the Basic Law provides that the HKSAR has been authorised by the National People’s Congress to exercise a high degree of autonomy and shall be vested with independent judicial power, including that of final adjudication. The Judiciary will continue to steadfastly uphold its commitment to the rule of law and judicial independence in Hong Kong.

The year of 2022 has also been a challenging yet fruitful year for the Judiciary.

The quality and quantity of judges and judicial officers is a crucial key to the effective and efficient administration of justice. As mentioned in my speech at the Ceremonial Opening of the Legal Year in January this year, the Hong Kong community is blessed with dedicated judges at all levels of court who are committed day in, day out to the practical administration of the law. Taking into account the 15 judicial appointments made in 2022, there are 164 substantive judges and judicial officers serving at different levels of court in the Judiciary. Moreover, on average, around 40 deputy judges and judicial officers, appointed from the legal profession, sit in different levels of court at any one time.

Following the implementation of an enhanced mechanism with a two-tier structure for handling complaints against judicial conduct in August 2021, the Judiciary reviewed and revised the Guide to Judicial Conduct (first published in 2004) in May 2022. The revisions have taken into account the impact of advancement in information technology, the use of social media, and the increasingly complex conditions in which judging takes place.

To enhance judicial education and professional qualities, the Judiciary continued to organise various new and additional judicial training and exchange programmes with the Mainland and overseas jurisdictions for judges and judicial officers in 2022.

In September 2022, we organised the third in a series of seminars, which started in 2021, on Chinese law and the legal and judicial system in the Mainland. We are planning to resume our regular exchange programmes with courts in the Mainland in 2023 as soon as the public health situation permits.

In November 2022, we played host to the 18th Conference of Chief Justices of Asia and the Pacific involving 24 Chief Justices and eight representatives of Chief Justices from jurisdictions throughout Asia and the Pacific region via video conferencing. Our judges and judicial officers participated in person or online in 12 other judicial conferences, seminars and exchange activities in 2022.

On the operational front, the year of 2022 was taxing for the Judiciary, particularly with the onset of the 5th wave of the COVID-19 pandemic. Yet, despite the resulting reductions in court capacity (including a one-month general adjournment of proceedings), we managed to dispose of an overall caseload which was comparable to that in 2019 before the pandemic . This would not have been possible without the concerted efforts of all judges and judicial officers as well as our dedicated support staff through the maximum use of available manpower and facilities.

In 2022, we continued to accord priority to coping with the unprecedented challenges from the upsurge of over 2 300 cases relating to the social events in 2019 as well as national security. While new cases continued to be brought to court in 2022, around 85% of the cases have been concluded, through the best possible deployment of judicial manpower and facilities across different levels of court. At present, our main focus is on handling the outstanding criminal cases totaling around 180 at the District Court, many of which involve long trials. Meanwhile, we have been expediting the processing of thousands of cases relating to non-refoulement claims at the High Court through multi-pronged measures.

To cater for our short- to longer-term operational needs, we have been constructing new and additional courtrooms as well as supporting facilities in the High Court Building, the Wanchai Tower and the Revenue Tower, which are expected to be commissioned from next year onwards.

In May 2022, we secured funding approval from the Legislative Council for constructing a new District Court Building at Caroline Hill Road for the reprovisioning and co-location of the District Court, the Family Court and the Lands Tribunal. The construction works are underway and expected to be completed in 2026 for commissioning in 2027.

The Judiciary has been making continual efforts in harnessing technology to enhance the efficiency of court operations. In May 2022, a range of electronic services, including e-filing, were rolled out through the integrated Court Case Management System (“iCMS”) in the District Court, starting with civil proceedings. In December 2022, we extended e-filing to summons cases in the Magistrates’ Courts and are planning to roll out the same to other courts incrementally from 2024. We have also been making greater use of other technology initiatives, including e-bundles at court hearings, remote hearings, an e-appointment system as well as a digital evidence and exhibits handling system, as and when appropriate.

As regards legislative proposals, we have been working on the draft Courts (Remote Hearing) Bill to enable both the civil and criminal courts to conduct remote hearings as they see fit, having regard to all relevant circumstances, as well as the dual requirements of open justice and fairness. We launched a three-month public consultation on the draft Bill in June 2022 and aim to introduce the Bill into the Legislative Council in 2023.

We have also been working on the introduction of the Family Procedure Bill into the Legislative Council in 2023, having regard to stakeholders’ views from public consultation in 2022. The Bill seeks to provide a clear legal basis for a full consolidated set of self-contained and streamlined procedural rules with a view to modernising the family justice system in Hong Kong.

The Judiciary has been working closely with the Government on mutual legal assistance arrangements with the Mainland. In February 2022, we put in place measures to implement an agreement on reciprocal recognition and enforcement of civil judgments in matrimonial and family cases. We are working on implementation arrangements for another similar agreement covering judgments in civil and commercial matters, following the passage of the enabling legislation in October 2022.

I wish to take this opportunity to thank members of the community, the Government and the Legislative Council for their invaluable support for the work of the Judiciary. I would also like to express my gratitude to my fellow judges and judicial officers, as well as the staff in the Judiciary for their dedication and commitment.

Andrew CHEUNG
Chief Justice

歡迎辭

本報告概述司法機構於2022年的主要活動。

2022年是香港特別行政區(「香港特區」)成立25周年。在「一國兩制」下,《基本法》訂明香港特區獲全國人民代表大會授權實行高度自治,並享有獨立的司法權,包括終審權。司法機構將繼續堅守維護法治和香港司法獨立的承諾。

2022年對司法機構而言也是充滿挑戰然亦碩果豐盛的一年。

法官和司法人員的質素與人數是有效執行司法工作的關鍵。正如我在今年1月法律年度開啟典禮的演辭中提到,香港市民幸有一眾竭誠盡心的法官,每天致力切實執行司法工作。計及於2022年作出的15項司法任命,司法機構各級法院現時共有164名實任法官和司法人員。除此之外,我們平均約有40名從法律界任命的暫委法官和司法人員於同一時間在不同級別的法院工作。

繼2021年8月推行兩層架構改進機制以處理針對法官及司法人員行為的投訴,司法機構檢討2004年首度發表的《法官行為指引》並於2022年5月更新了《指引》。相關修訂已顧及資訊科技發展的影響、社交媒體的使用,以及審理案件所涉愈趨複雜的情況。

為加強司法教育和專業才能,司法機構於2022年繼續為法官和司法人員舉辦多項新增與另設的司法培訓活動,以及與內地及海外司法管轄區的交流活動。

2022年9月,司法機構第三次舉辦自2021年起展開的一系列有關中國法律及司法制度的專題講座。如公共衞生情況許可,我們正計劃在2023年內,盡早恢復與內地法院的定期交流。

2022年11月,司法機構主辦第十八屆亞太區首席法官會議,來自亞太區司法管轄區的24位首席法官和8位首席法官代表通過視像會議參加。2022年,司法機構的法官及司法人員親身或於網上參與了12次其他司法會議、專題講座和交流活動。

在運作方面,2022年對司法機構而言相當艱巨,尤其是面臨2019冠狀病毒病第5波疫情爆發。然而,即使法庭事務處理量因疫情而有所減少(包括為期一個月的「法庭程序一般延期」),我們處理的案件總數仍與2019年疫情爆發前的水平相若。這實有賴全體法官和司法人員以及一眾熱誠工作的支援人員同心協力,充分善用現有人手和法庭設施方能成事。

2022年,我們繼續優先應對激增2 300多宗與2019年社會事件和國家安全相關的案件所引發前所未見的挑戰。儘管2022年繼續有新案件提交法院審理,但透過善用各級法院的司法人手和設施,當中約 85% 的案件已經結案。目前,我們主要集中處理餘下尚待區域法院審理共約180宗刑事案件,其中許多涉及長審訊期。與此同時,司法機構一直透過多管齊下的措施,加快處理高等法院數千宗有關免遣返聲請的案件。

為配合短期和長遠的運作需要,我們正於高等法院大樓、灣仔政府大樓和稅務大樓新增法庭及支援設施,預計將於明年起啟用。

2022年5月,我們獲立法會批准撥款,在加路連山道興建新的區域法院大樓,以重置區域法院、家事法庭和土地審裁處於同一地點。建造工程現正進行中,預計在2026年竣工,並於2027年啟用。

司法機構一直致力善用科技提升法院的運作效率。2022年5月,我們推出綜合法院案件管理系統(「綜合系統」),率先於區域法院的民事法律程序,推行一系列包括電子存檔的電子服務。2022年12月,我們將電子存檔服務推展至裁判法院的傳票案件,並計劃由2024年開始逐步使之涵蓋其他法院。我們亦因應情況,更廣泛地應用其他科技措施,包括在法庭聆訊中使用電子文件冊、遙距聆訊、電子預約系統,以及數碼證據及證物處理系統。

至於立法建議,司法機構已着手擬定《法院(遙距聆訊)條例草案》草擬本,使民事和刑事法庭可在考慮所有相關情況,並顧及司法公開和公正兩大原則後,在其認為合適的情況下進行遙距聆訊。我們於2022年6月就該《條例草案》草擬本展開為期三個月的公眾諮詢,並擬於2023年內將該《條例草案》提交立法會審議。

另外,我們致力於2023年向立法會提交《家事訴訟程序條例草案》,當中亦會參考2022年進行的公眾諮詢中持份者提出的意見。該《條例草案》旨在為訂立一整套獨立完備和精簡的綜合程序規則提供清晰的法律基礎,從而令香港的家事司法制度現代化。

司法機構正繼續與政府就與內地相互司法協助的安排緊密合作。2022年2月,我們推出措施落實關於相互認可和執行婚姻家庭民事案件判決的協議。至於另一份涵蓋民商事案件判決的類似協議,繼相關賦權法例於2022年10月獲得通過後,我們現正處理有關實施安排的工作。

我謹藉此機會,多謝社會大眾、政府及立法會對司法機構工作的寶貴支持。我亦向各位法官及司法人員同儕,以及司法機構的員工致謝,感謝他們盡忠職守、勇於承擔。

終審法院首席法官
張舉能