Skip to main content
About Us

Responses to identical or similar complaints against the same judge or judicial officers

Judiciary’s Response to Complaints (ESCC1108/2020、ESCC2460/2019、ESCC2566/2019、ESCC2410/2019 and ESCC495/2020)

The following is the Judiciary’s response concerning complaints from members of the public against five cases adjudicated by Magistrate CHEANG Kei-hong (“the Magistrate”):

ESCC2566/2019 and ESCC495/2020

As the defendants of the aforementioned cases have lodged appeal to the Court of First Instance, the complaints regarding these cases will be followed up as appropriate upon the conclusion of the legal proceedings.

ESCC1108/2020, ESCC2460/2019 and ESCC2410/2019

The time for appealing or applying for review of sentence in respect of ESCC1108/2020 and ESCC2410/2019 has expired.

The defendant of ESCC2460/2019 lodged an appeal against the conviction and sentence on 14 September 2020 (HCMA261/2020). Upon the filing of a Notice of Abandonment by the defendant on 27 October 2020, the appeal was dismissed.

The Chief Magistrate has looked at each of these cases in depth, and has read the transcripts of the audio-recording of the reasons for verdict, the reasons for sentence and other relevant parts of the proceedings in the cases. The transcripts of the audio recording of the reasons for verdict and the reasons for sentence have been uploaded onto the Judiciary website.

For the reasons set out below, the Chief Magistrate is of the view that the complaints against the judicial conduct of the Magistrate in adjudicating the captioned cases are not substantiated.

ESCC1108/2020

The defendant was convicted on his own plea of an offence of “Assault occasioning actual bodily harm”, and was sentenced to 3 months and 6 days’ imprisonment. (For the transcript of the audio recording of the Reasons for Sentence, please see link (Chinese only))

It was complained that the Magistrate “justified” the criminal act of the defendant on the ground that it was due to differences in political views; commended the defendant for “loving society”; encouraged violent conduct; turned a deaf ear to the intimidating utterances the defendant made in court; and was biased.

The transcript of the audio recording of the part of the hearing relevant to the matters raised in the complaint shows that, after the prosecutor put the charge to the defendant for plea, there were the following exchanges between the Magistrate and the defendant:

“Defendant: I speak out for Hong Kong. They stir up trouble(s) in the territory of China. I don’t like [it]. We want everyone to have a full meal. I don’t want everyone damaging things in our Hong Kong. Can they cause trouble at our Chinese consulate?

Magistrate: Well, things that the other party did and the case that you are now being prosecuted for are two distinct matters …

Defendant: What is to admit or not admit, I can admit or I can refuse to admit. They ruin the territory of China, [so] I don’t admit. I have the right to take action. Not to mention he is Leung Kwok Hung, even if he were the emperor, I would stab [him] all the same.

Magistrate: This is not the way to reason, Mr. Wong. Whether or not you had done the act is one thing, it is another thing that he has done … he did other things, there is other way to deal with it, that is if he has breached the law …

Defendant: So this is like, okay, you can say, I can’t say, okay …

Magistrate: If he …

Defendant: I admit, I admit everything.

Magistrate: [If] you disagree with his opinion, you have another way to go about it, but should not … , if, according to the prosecution case, you had injured him, this was not right, do you understand, Mr. Wong?”

Also, in his plea in mitigation, the defendant had the following exchange with the Magistrate:

“Defendant: Even Hui Chi Fung, Wong Chi Fung, these two will die, sooner or later.

Magistrate: It can’t be like this, Mr. Wong. If you say you use violence against the other party whose opinion differs from yours …

Defendant: What should I use, if not violence? Use a pistol? [I had] no pistol, I would have fired at him if I had one.

Magistrate: Conversely, if the other side also uses violence against people on your side, you would not agree to it.

Defendant: I don’t know and I don’t agree. Anyway, if I was unlucky I would be stabbed by him, I … he was unlucky and he was stabbed by me. That’s all. I just want everyone to have a full meal.

Magistrate: Listen to me, Mr. Wong, yes, we Chinese have an old saying “do as you would be done by”, understand?

Defendant: Understand.”

At the hearing, the Magistrate, after examining the exhibit in question (a metal made chisel), viewing the video footage and considering the legal authorities, decided to call for a community service suitability report before sentence. When calling for the report, the Magistrate said, “I know Mr. Wong … from what he said, it seems he loves this society, and just did the act in question because of the different political views held by him and the other party. I believe, if Mr. Wong is physically capable of doing something to serve the community, he will not object to community service. I am minded to, because … because of this, I will call for community service order, like what I have just said, in his mind, I believe he is willing to perform community service …”

Reading the above exchanges in context, it can be seen the Magistrate did not directly or indirectly affirm or encourage violent conduct against people holding different political views. Nor did he “justify” the criminal conduct of the defendant. On the contrary, in view of the intimidating utterances made by the defendant that he would use violence against people holding different views, he repeatedly admonished the defendant saying he should not resort to violence because of difference in opinions. The Magistrate did not praise the defendant for “loving society”. What he said at the time was that according to the defendant, he loved society and committed the offence due to different political views, he therefore considered community service order to be one sentencing option.

In his oral Reasons for Sentence, the Magistrate articulated the basis for the sentence passed, which included the background of the case, the facts, the injuries sustained by the victim, etc. According to the community service order suitability report, the defendant was not suitable to perform community service. In the result, the Magistrate sentenced him to 3 months and 6 days’ imprisonment. The Magistrate further admonished him not to use violence because of difference in opinions.

The Magistrate has not expressed any view that indicates a personal or political inclination, or gives rise to a perception of apparent bias.

ESCC2460/2019

The defendant was convicted after trial of an offence of “Assaulting a police officer in the due execution of his duty” and an offence of “Possessing things with intent to damage property”. The Magistrate took a starting point of a sentence of 50 days for the first charge and that of 5 months for the second charge. Owing to the previous good character of the defendant, the Magistrate gave a sentencing discount of about 10% to each charge.

Having considered the principle of totality, the Magistrate ordered one month of the sentence for the first charge to run consecutively to the sentence for the second charge. In the result, the defendant was sentenced to 5 months and 15 days’ imprisonment. [For the transcripts of the audio recording of the Reasons for Verdict and Reasons for Sentence, please see the link (Chinese only)]

The defendant lodged an appeal against conviction and sentence (HCMA261/2020) on 14 September 2020. Upon the filing of Notice of Abandonment by the defendant on 27 October 2020, the appeal was dismissed.

It was complained that the Magistrate’s reasons for conviction were unconvincing, contrary to the common law principles of “presumption of innocence”, “convicting the innocent is far more abhorrent than letting the guilty go free” and “the benefit of the doubt should go to the defendant”. In addition, the Magistrate, in passing sentencing, described the criminal conduct of the defendant as “selfish” and “deplorable”, which amounted to bias.

In his oral reasons for verdict, the Magistrate had analyzed the testimonies of the two prosecution witnesses and the defendant, considered the exhibits adduced at trial including the medical report of the prosecution witness, the video footage adduced by the defence, etc. The Magistrate was entitled to, on the basis of the evidence before him, comment on the credibility of the witnesses and make findings of fact.

The Magistrate also, in his verdict, expressly reminded himself of the applicable legal principles including the burden of proof. There was nothing to indicate a contravention of applicable basic legal principles. (Transcript of the audio recording of the Reasons for Verdict- paragraphs 2-3)

The part of the oral reasons for sentence relevant to the matters raised in the complaint states:

“The act intended to be carried out by the defendant was selfish, had no regard for the overall public order, it is deplorable. The result of such act(s) is that what used to be neat and tidy streets in Hong Kong now have graffiti everywhere. Owner(s) of the graffitied property or voluntary workers have to spend time, effort, resources and money to reinstate them, to cover the slogans, catchwords, drawings. Some of the slogans and catchwords in the graffiti contained hate messages and promoted violence, which are repugnant. These acts only serve to destroy, alienate the community of Hong Kong. In my view, the act of graffiti that the defendant intended to carry out was worse and more malicious than the two English graffiti cases and Australian case I mentioned just now.” (Transcript of the audio recording of the Reasons for Sentence – paragraph 13)

When the Magistrate mentioned “selfish” and “deplorable”, his aim was to point out the seriousness of the case in terms of criminality and comparing it to other cases, with a view to explaining the underlying sentencing considerations.

In his Reasons for Verdict and Sentence, the Magistrate has not expressed any view that indicates a personal or political inclination, or gives rise to a perception of apparent bias.

ESCC2410/2019

The defendant was convicted after trial of an offence of “Possession of offensive weapon in public place”, and was sentenced to 10 months’ imprisonment. [For the transcripts of the audio recording of the Reasons for Verdict and Reasons for Sentence, please see the link (Chinese only)]

It was complained that the Magistrate was biased in his sentence and had targeted the defendant who possessed a political stance.

Before passing sentence, the Magistrate called for a Detention Centre suitability report for the defendant. The report showed the defendant was physically not suitable to be admitted to Detention Centre. Having regard to the facts of the case, its seriousness, the authorities and all the circumstances of the case, the Magistrate adopted a starting point for sentence of 12 months. Owing to the previous good character of the defendant, the Magistrate gave a sentencing discount of 2 months and sentenced him to 10 months’ imprisonment.

The Magistrate’s oral reasons for sentence had articulated the basis and reasons for the sentence passed. He has not expressed any view that indicates a personal or political inclination, or gives rise to a perception of apparent bias.

Conclusion

The Chief Magistrate emphasized that every complaint against judicial conduct will be handled in accordance with the established mechanism. For complaints that the judicial officer was biased, factors to be taken into account include the context of the relevant statement(s), whether the judicial officer has expressed any view that indicates he/she was biased (such as indicating a political inclination) etc., and whether a case of bias is made out in accordance with the “Guide to Judicial Conduct”.

The Chief Magistrate also emphasized that any judicial decision, just like the verdicts and sentences given in the captioned cases, is made independently by the Magistrate. In accordance with the principle of judicial independence, the Chief Magistrate in his administrative capacity would not, and it would be inappropriate, to interfere with any judicial decisions. A party who is aggrieved by a judicial decision may, in accordance with the applicable procedures, seek redress by appealing or applying for review to a higher court.

The Chief Magistrate noted that the defendants in the above cases either had not appealed, or had abandoned his appeal, on the ground that the conviction was unsafe or the sentence was manifestly excessive. The Department of Justice had also not applied for a review on the ground that the sentence was manifestly inadequate.

The Chief Justice of the Court of Final Appeal agreed with the Chief Magistrate.

15 December 2020

跳至主要內容
關於司法機構

針對同一名法官或司法人員而提出的相同或類似投訴

司法機構就有關投訴的回應 (ESCC1108/2020、ESCC2460/2019、ESCC2566/2019、ESCC2410/2019及ESCC495/2020)

司法機構就公眾對鄭紀航裁判官(下稱“裁判官”)審理的5宗案件的投訴,發表以下回應:

ESCC2566/2019 及 ESCC495/2020

由於題述案件的被告人已向原訟法庭提出上訴,因此司法機構會待該案的司法程序完結後才作出適當的跟進。

ESCC1108/2020、ESCC2460/2019 及 ESCC2410/2019

案件ESCC1108/2020和ESCC2410/2019的上訴或申請刑期覆核時限已屆滿。

案件ESCC2460/2019的被告人於2020年9月14日就定罪和判刑提出上訴(HCMA261/2020)。被告人於2020年10月27日向法庭存檔放棄上訴通知書,有關的上訴已被撤銷。

總裁判官經已深入了解,及閱讀每宗案件的裁決理由或判刑理由,以及法庭程序的相關部分的錄音謄本。有關的裁決理由或判刑理由的錄音謄本已上載司法機構的網頁。

總裁判官基於下述理由,認為針對裁判官審理題述案件的司法行為的投訴不成立。

ESCC1108/2020

被告人於裁判官席前承認一項「襲擊致造成身體傷害」罪,被判監3個月又6天。(判刑理由的錄音謄本見此連結)

投訴指,裁判官以政見不合為理由去「合理化」被告人的犯罪行為,又稱讚被告人「熱愛社會」,鼓勵暴力行為,亦對被告人庭上的恐嚇言論,置若罔聞,態度偏頗。

與投訴事項有關的聆訊錄音謄本顯示,主控官宣讀控罪後,要求被告人答辯時,裁判官與被告人有以下的對話:

「被告人:我為香港出頭,佢哋就喺我哋中國地方搞事,我就唔鍾意嘅,我哋想個個都有餐飽飯食,我就唔想個個都搞壞我哋香港嘅嘢,佢喺我哋中國嘅領事嗰度搞嘢,得唔得?

官:係,對方做啲咩嘢事呢,就同而家控告你嗰一件事呢,係兩回事嚟嘅,…

被告人:有咩嘢認唔認吖,認又得,唔認又都得,佢搞壞我哋中國嘅地方我就唔認,我就可以有權做嘢,我唔好話佢梁國雄,我就算佢皇帝我都係照

官:唔係咁嘅道理嘅,黃生,有冇做過呢樣嘢係一件事嚟嘅,另外嗰個人佢有做 - - 佢做其他咩嘢事呢,係另外有第二啲事去處理,即係如果佢有犯法,…

被告人:即係咁樣,okay,你講得,我講唔得,得喇,…

官:如果佢…

被告人:我認呀,冚唥我認晒。

官:你唔同意佢嘅意見嘅,你有第二啲方法處理,但係都唔應該 - - 若然根據控方案情呢,係你有傷害佢呢,咁樣係唔應該嘅,明唔明白,黃先生? 」

而被告人在作出輕判請求陳詞時,與裁判官有以下的對話:

「被告人:就算係呢個許智峯、黃之鋒,呢兩個都會死,遲早。

官:唔可以咁樣樣㗎,黃先生,如果你話你嘅意見不同就要用暴力對你另外一方你意見唔同嘅人嘅話呢,...

被告人:咁我哋呢啲唔用暴力用咩嘢呀?用槍呀?冇槍吖,有槍我用槍打佢。

官:調番轉,如果對方都用暴力去對付你呢一方嘅人,你都唔會同意㗎嘛。

被告人:我唔知道我又唔同意,總言之我唔夠運就畀佢到,我--佢唔夠運畀我到,就係咁多嘢。我就想大家都係得餐飽飯食嘅啫。

官:聽我講吓,黃先生,係。我哋中國人有句老話叫做己所不欲勿施於人吖嘛,明唔明白?

被告人:明白。」

裁判官於聆訊中檢視了涉案的證物 (一個金屬製的鑿)、觀看了案發時的影像片段和考慮了案例後,決定於判刑前先為被告人索取社會服務令合適性報告。裁判官下令索取有關的報告時說:「我知道黃先生佢 - - 從佢口中呢,似乎係熱愛呢個社會嘅,佢只不過係因為自己同對方嘅政見唔同,然之後先至就係做咗今次嘅行為。我相信呢,若然黃先生佢嗰個身體能夠可以做一啲嘢去服務社會嘅話呢,佢唔會反對去做社會服務。我打算就係咁樣樣,因為 - - 因此之故呢,我會索取社會服務令,正如我頭先所講喇,佢嘅心理上面呢,我相信佢係願意做社會服務,…」

上述幾段對話按照其前文後理,可見裁判官沒有直接或間接地認同或鼓勵針對不同政見人士作出暴力行為,更沒有「合理化」被告人的犯罪行為,反而就被告人在庭上指會以暴力對付不同意見人士的恐嚇言論,再三告誡被告人不可以因意見不同而訴諸暴力。裁判官亦沒有讚揚被告人「熱愛社會」。裁判官當時只表示,按被告人自己的說法,他熱愛社會和因為政見不同作出案中的犯罪行為,從而考慮社會服務令作為一個判刑的選擇。

裁判官的口頭判刑理由已說明量刑的基礎,包括案件的背景、犯罪情節及受害人傷勢等因素。根據社會服務令適合性報告,被告人不適合履行社會服務令,裁判官遂判處3個月又6天的即時監禁。裁判官並告誡被告人不可以因意見不同而使用暴力。

裁判官沒有表達任何個人或帶有政治傾向性的言論,亦沒有表面偏頗的情況。

ESCC2460/2019

被告人經審訊後被裁定一項「襲擊在正當執行職務的警務人員」罪和一項「管有物品意圖損壞財產」罪,罪名成立。裁判官就兩項控罪分別採納50天和5個月監禁作為量刑基準,基於被告人過往的良好品格而就每項控罪給予約百份之10的判刑折扣。

裁判官在考慮量刑的總體性後,命令首項控罪其中的1個月監禁,與次項控罪的刑罰分期執行。結果,被告人被判監5個月又15天。(裁決理由和判刑理由的錄音謄本見此連結)

被告人於2020年9月14日就定罪和判刑提出上訴(HCMA261/2020)。被告人於2020年10月27日向法庭存檔放棄上訴通知書,有關的上訴已被撤銷。

投訴指,裁判官的裁決理由令人難以信服,有違「假定無罪」、「寧縱毋枉」和「疑點利益歸於被告人」等普通法的原則。此外,裁判官於量刑時以「自私」、「令人厭惡」去形容被告人的犯罪行為,構成偏頗。

裁判官的口頭裁決理由,分析了兩名控方證人和被告人的證言,亦考慮了已呈堂的證物包括控方證人的醫療報告、辯方呈堂的錄影影像片段等。裁判官有權按席前的證供,就各證人的可信性作出評論和就事實作出裁斷。

裁判官於裁決時明言已謹記適用的法律指引,包括舉證責任,並沒有違反適用的基本法律原則。(見裁決理由的錄音謄本第2至3段)

口頭判刑理由與投訴事項有關的部分指:

「被告意圖進行的行為是自私,不顧及整體公眾秩序環境的,令人厭惡的,此等行為令本來整潔及井井有條的香港街道變得塗鴉處處,被塗鴉的物件還須物主或義工費時、費力、費資源、費金錢去修復,去遮閉那些塗鴉標語、口號、圖案。那些塗鴉標語、口號有些是充滿仇恨及宣揚暴力而令人反感的,此等行為只會破壞、分化香港社會。本席認為被告意圖進行的塗鴉行為其嚴重程度甚至比本席剛才提及的兩宗英國塗鴉案件及澳洲塗鴉案件更甚、更差,也更具惡意。」(見判刑理由的錄音謄本第13段)

裁判官提及「自私」、「令人厭惡」時,旨在指出案件罪責嚴重之處,並對比其他案例,以說明量刑的考量。

裁判官的裁決和判刑理由沒有表達任何個人或帶有政治傾向性的言論,亦沒有表面偏頗的情況。

ESCC2410/2019

被告人經審訊後被裁判官裁定一項「在公眾地方管有攻擊性武器」罪,罪名成立,被判監10個月。(裁決理由和判刑理由的錄音謄本見此連結)

投訴指,裁判官的判刑偏頗,針對擁有政治立場的被告人。

裁判官於判刑前為被告人索取了勞教中心適合性報告。報告指被告人的身體健康狀況不合適進入勞教中心。裁判官考慮了案情、其嚴重性、案例和所有情況後,採納12個月為量刑基準,基於被告人過往的良好品格,給予2個月的判刑折扣,判處被告人10個月監禁。

裁判官的口頭判刑理由清楚交待了量刑的基礎和理據,當中沒有表達任何個人或帶有政治傾向性的言論,亦沒有表面偏頗的情況。

總結

總裁判官強調,每宗針對司法行為的投訴,均依循既定機制處理。在處理涉及指司法人員偏頗的投訴時,考慮因素包括司法人員有關言論的前文後理,有否表達任何偏頗(例如含有政治傾向性)的言論等,以及按「法官行為指引」的準則是否構成偏頗。

總裁判官亦強調,上述案件的裁決、判刑是裁判官經過獨立斷案而作出的司法決定。基於司法獨立的基本原則,總裁判官不適宜亦不會以行政的職能干預任何的司法決定。訴訟任何一方針對司法決定不滿,可以透過適用的法律程序,向上級法院提出上訴或覆核,要求糾正。

總裁判官留意到上述案件的被告人並沒有或已放棄以定罪不穩妥、刑罰明顯過重等理由提出上訴,而律政司亦沒有以判罰明顯過輕為理由提出覆核申請。

終審法院首席法官同意總裁判官的意見。

2020年12月15日