Skip to main content
Court Services & Facilities
Court Services & Facilities > Latest arrangement on court business > Remote Hearings for Civil Business in Civil Courts > Guidance Note for Remote Hearings for Civil Business in the High Court (Phase 1 : Video-Conferencing Facilities)

Guidance Note for Remote Hearings for Civil Business in the High Court (Phase 1 : Video-Conferencing Facilities) pdf version

Introduction

1. Because of the Covid-19 pandemic, the Chief Justice has directed that all proceedings are generally adjourned with effect from 29 January 2020. By further directions of the Chief Justice, the period of the general adjournment of proceedings (i.e. the General Adjourned Period or GAP) has since been extended continuously up to 13 April 2020. As the public health situation keeps changing rapidly, it is currently uncertain when GAP will end.

2. The unprecedented challenge to the operation of the court in the current Covid-19 pandemic, with serious public health concerns if the court were to resume full operation in the usual manner, requires the use of alternative modes of hearing so as to maximize the continued and safe operation of the justice system while maintaining social distancing and reducing the risk of Covid-19 spreading in the community as far as possible. It is of paramount importance that justice is duly administered continuously and effectively without compromising public health and safety.

3. As an alternative mode, paper disposals are considered suitable for many civil cases not involving live witnesses. They are welcomed by the profession and have proved to be successful so far. They should continue to be adopted as the first alternative mode of hearing as far as possible during GAP.

4. However, it is recognized that in some cases oral submissions are still necessary. This requires the court to conduct remote hearings by means of available technology during GAP.

5. This Guidance Note is issued to set out the practice for remote hearings by electronic means in civil cases in the Court of First Instance and the Court of Appeal of the High Court during GAP. The guidelines set out in this Guidance Note are intended to apply on a “technology neutral basis” to the possible use of differing electronic means in phases.

6. Phase 1 entails using existing court’s video-conferencing facilities (“VCF”). Subsequent phases envisage the possible use of other video and electronic technology, subject to ensuring that the use of such technology is permitted by the law as it is and applicable court rules and procedures, logistically feasible, and appropriately secure.

7. Whatever technology is employed for remote hearings will require the flexible application of these guidelines.

8. The essence is to replicate as closely as practically possible the core requirements of court hearings. The ultimate question is one of fairness, it being understood that standards of fairness are not immutable and the requirements of fairness are flexible and closely conditioned by the legal and administrative context.

9. Remote hearings using video technology preserve most of the benefits of an oral hearing, allowing parties and their legal representatives and the court to interact with each other on a realtime basis. Parties and their legal representatives will be expected to focus their submissions (and evidence, if applicable) so as to promote the efficient use of the technology within the shortest possible appropriate time. As even remote hearings may require some persons to be physically present in the same place, the duration of hearings should be limited to reduce public health risk to those present. All participants should keep in mind the wider public interest of maintaining social distancing as a strategy to combat the pandemic.

10. Insofar as the conduct of remote hearings might impact the open justice principle, it is settled law that different balances may be struck with regard to different aspects of open justice being subject to restrictions when other competing fundamental rights are engaged. The court will be astute to ensure the appropriate balance is struck, for example by the continued public dissemination of reasoned decisions.

11. These guidelines can also be used in conjunction with current and future means of electronic lodging of documents with the court, or with any particular Judge (such as by use of a ‘no-reply’ email address, or e-lodgment platforms).

12. All participants in remote hearings will need to be sympathetic to the technological and other difficulties which might be experienced by other participants, in the setting up of and in the conduct of remote hearings.

Guidance – Phase 1

13. PD 29: Practice Direction 29 on “Use of the Technology Court” shall not apply to remote hearings conducted by VCF or other video and electronic technology.

14. Existing VCF: The following paragraphs refer specifically and are limited to remote hearings using existing court’s VCF. (A further or amended Guidance Note may be issued in due course if remote hearings are to be conducted by other video or electronic means.)

15. General: A remote hearing can be conducted in and from any court room with VCF available, or in and from any court room where VCF can be made available. Such hearings will require the use of equipment at the remote locations which is compatible with the court’s VCF and meets the operational requirements of court hearings.

16. Decision as to use of VCF: In view of the competition for the use of limited VCF resources, Judges will consider which of their cases (for which hearings have been fixed for future dates) might be suitable for disposal by a remote hearing using VCF. In other words, for the time being the initiative will come from the court and judges will not entertain any application to use VCF. This temporary restriction is imposed to ensure a fair and effective distribution of the limited VCF to cases which in the court’s view warrant remote hearings. It will be lifted as and when appropriate.

17. The court can of its own motion order a remote hearing, and Order 1A rule 4(2)(j) and (k) and Order 1B rule 3 of the Rules of the High Court shall apply. It is a case management decision within the discretion of the Judge concerned as to which hearings, or any part of hearings, should be conducted as remote hearings.

18. In practice, before ordering a remote hearing the court will propose it to the parties or make an order nisi to that effect. If the parties disagree with the court’s proposal or nisi order for a remote hearing, they may make submissions in writing (by use of “no reply” email addresses, or such other means directed), copied to the other parties, stating what other proposal they put forward as more appropriate. After considering the matter, the court will make a determination as to the method of dealing with the hearing, and will give all necessary and appropriate directions.

19. Before any remote hearing is ordered, the court will check that suitable remote hearing facilities are available. Whilst attempts will be made to have suitable remote hearings conducted on dates as originally fixed, remote hearings may be ordered to take place on dates and/or at times different from the originally fixed hearing date and time.

20. Use: Once a remote hearing has been directed, the parties shall liaise with the court (with the clerk to the Judge allocated to the hearing) to promote the timely and efficient conduct of the remote hearing, including as to technical matters, and any necessary equipment tests.

21. The court shall give the necessary and appropriate directions for that purpose. A draft of typical directions is attached for guidance at Appendix A.

22. Types of hearing suitable to be conducted remotely: In the Court of First Instance, all interlocutory applications or appeals will be considered for hearing remotely. Final hearings ordinarily dealt with on written evidence (that is, without live oral evidence), such as applications for judicial review, will also be considered for hearing remotely. In the Court of Appeal, all civil appeals and interlocutory applications, including applications for leave to appeal will be considered for hearing remotely. In general, applications suitable for hearing remotely by VCF are those which the Court thinks focused oral submissions can be concluded within 2 hours.

23. At present, trials will not be considered suitable for remote hearings.

24. Listing: Hearings fixed for remote hearing by use of VCF will be listed on the daily cause list, with an indication that the hearing will be dealt with remotely.

25. At the hearing: It will generally be the responsibility of any person participating in a remote hearing to make all arrangements necessary for or incidental to ensuring that the use of VCF proceeds smoothly and effectively. For example, all such persons should ensure attending the remote site and linking with the court’s VCF in good time for the remote hearing to take place, and all persons should have been duly supplied with the copies of or access to any documents relevant to the hearing.

26. If the hearing is listed to be heard in open court, even though conducted as a remote hearing, robes should be worn by the barristers and/or solicitor advocates appearing, as well as by the Judge. All court rules and practice on court etiquette will continue to apply (save that standing when making submissions or at the beginning and end of hearings will not be necessary).

27. Normally, the proceedings will be recorded using the DARTS system. No other participant or person, whether physically in the court room or at any remote location, is permitted to record the hearing in any form.

28. Subject to the direction of the Judge, a remote hearing will be conducted openly where public and media can attend physically. However, in the exceptional circumstances of the threat to public health caused by the current pandemic, the impossibility of public or media access to a hearing should not ordinarily prevent the remote hearing taking place. The decision whether, how, and to what extent, to permit public or media access to a remote hearing rests with the Judge conducting the hearing.

29. Costs: Where the court’s VCF facilities are to be used in conjunction with services and/or materials provided by commercial entities (such as telecommunications carriers providing videoconferencing services or providers of real-time court reporting and transcription services), it shall be the responsibility of each party wishing to avail himself of such services and/or materials to make appropriate contractual arrangements directly with such commercial entities and directly to meet their charges.

30. The costs of the use of VCF and any other services and/or materials used in conjunction with them will form part of the costs of the proceedings, and will be subject to such costs orders as the court thinks fit.

31. This Guidance Note will take effect on 3 April 2020. It may be subject to amendment and will continue until further notice.

 

Dated this 2nd of April 2020.

 

(Jeremy Poon)
Chief Judge of the High Court

 

 


Appendix A

HCA xxxx/2020

[Case Heading]

UPON the Court determining that, in the exceptional circumstances of the current public health crisis, this matter is suitable for remote hearing by means of the Court’s video-conferencing facilities.

ON ITS OWN MOTION [AND BY CONSENT]
IT IS ORDERED THAT:

1. The hearing of [summons dated xxx] [application dated xxx] shall be conducted by way of remote hearing, unless the Court otherwise directs.

2. The parties and their representatives shall attend the remote hearing by way of the Court’s video-conferencing facilities.

3. No person may take any form of recording of the remote hearing, other than the Court [and name of permitted transcription service].

4. The remote hearing shall take place at [time] on [date] with a time estimate of [length].

5. The remote hearing shall be conducted by the Court from [Court xx] in the [High Court Building] / [Court of Final Appeal building].

6. All applicable Court rules or practice as to dress and etiquette will continue to apply to the remote hearing, except that there is no need to stand at the beginning or end of hearings or when addressing the Court.

7. The [applicant] / [respondent] / [other party] shall be responsible for arranging with the Judge’s clerk (via [telephone number] / [email address] / [other]) the necessary facilities to conduct the remote hearing, allowing sufficient time for any necessary testing to take place. All appropriate contact details for the parties and the representatives necessary for the conduct of the remote hearing will be provided to the Court.

8. The [applicant] / [respondent] / [other party] shall confirm the details of the arrangements for the remote hearing to the other parties and to the Court no later than [time and date prior to the remote hearing taking place].

9. The hearing bundle, skeleton arguments and lists of authorities (together with copies of the authorities [and any other documents ordered] shall be provided to the Court by [time and date] using [means, e.g. “no-reply” email address or e-lodging]

10. [Any other necessary directions]

11. [Provision for costs]

跳至主要內容
法庭服務及設施
法庭服務及設施 >法庭事務最新安排 > 在民事法庭的民事司法程序事務中進行遙距聆訊 > 在高等法院民事司法程序事務中進行遙距聆訊的指引(第一階段:視像會議設施)

在高等法院民事司法程序事務中進行遙距聆訊的指引(第一階段:視像會議設施)pdf 版本

引言

1. 因應新型冠狀病毒病疫情的考慮,終審法院首席法官曾發出指示,由 2020 年 1 月 29 日起把所有法庭程序一般延期。終審法院首席法官其後再發出進一步指示,把法庭程序一般延期期間(下稱「一般延期」)數度延伸,直至 2020 年 4 月 13 日。由於公共衞生情況變化急速,故現時難以確定一般延期將於何時結束。

2. 當前的新型冠狀病毒病疫情,對法庭運作帶來了前所未見的挑戰。如法院全面恢復一切正常事務,可能在公共衞生方面引起不少關注。故此,有需要採用其他聆訊模式,以確保司法系統能夠持續和安全地進行最大程度的運作,而人與人之間亦能夠保持適當的社交距離,以及盡可能減低新型冠狀病毒病在社區傳播的風險。至為重要的是,司法機構必須持續有效地妥善執行司法工作,同時必須顧及公共衞生及安全的考慮。

3. 許多民事案件並不涉及證人親身到法庭作證,因此適合以書面方式作爲替代模式來處理。這模式廣受法律業界歡迎,至今亦成功運作,故在一般延期期間,應盡可能以此作爲聆訊的首選替代模式。

4. 當然,口頭陳述在部分案件中仍屬必需的。因此,在一般延期期間,法庭有需要借助現有的科技設施來進行遙距聆訊。

5. 本指引旨在就一般延期期間,高等法院上訴法庭和原訟法庭以電子媒介進行民事案件的遙距聆訊訂立實務安排。本文所列的各項指引,目的是採用“科技中立準則”,司法機構或可分階段引入不同種類之電子媒介來處理法庭事務。

6. 第一階段著眼於使用現時法庭備有的視像會議設施(視像會議設施)。在此後的各階段,將會因應當前的法例、適用的法庭規則和程序、後勤安排的可行性及合適的技術安全穩妥程度,而可能考慮引入其他視像和電子科技媒介來進行法院事務。

7. 無論是採用什麽科技來進行遙距聆訊,均有需要靈活運用這些指引。

8. 關鍵是遙距聆訊應該在切實可行的情況下,依循法庭聆訊的核心要求。最終講求的是公正性;而公正的標準並非一成不變,公正所要求的亦有靈活性,備受法律和行政情況影響。

9. 使用視像科技進行遙距聆訊,能保存口頭聆訊的最多優點,讓與訟各方和他們的法律代表能與法庭之間有實時互動。我們期望訴訟各方及其法律代表會集中處理他們的陳詞(及證供,如適用的話),以便在恰當的最短時間内有效率地善用有關科技。即使是遙距聆訊也需要某些人士處於同一地點,因此聆訊時段也應盡量限制,以減低對在場人士的健康構成風險。爲了防止疫情蔓延,所有出席者應謹記時刻保持適當的社交距離,以符合更大的公眾利益。

10. 至於進行遙距聆訊可能影響司法公開原則這點,明確的法律原則是,當涉及其他對立基本權利時,在司法公開與它在不同層面受到的限制中間,可以有不同的平衡點。法庭會時刻保持警覺,例如持續地向公衆發放附有理由的裁決書,以確保在這方面能夠取得適當的平衡。

11. 這些指引亦適用於現有和未來以電子方式,向法庭或任何一位法官提交文件的安排(如使用“不設回覆” 功能的電郵地址,或各電子提交平台)。

12. 所有參與遙距聆訊的人士,有需要體恤其他參與人士,在設置和進行遙距聆訊時,有可能遭遇到科技上或其他方面的困難。

第一階段的指引

13. 實務指示 29: 實務指示 29 “科技法庭的使用” 並適用於使用視像會議設施或其他視像及電子科技進行的遙距聆訊。

14. 現有的視像會議設施:以下的段落具體提述及限於對使用現有的法庭視像會議設施進行的遙距聆訊。(若日後可使用其他視像及電子媒介進行遙距聆訊,可能會發出進一步或經修訂的指引。)

15. 通用原則:任何法庭,只要設有視像會議設施、或能裝設視像會議設施,便能用之來進行遙距聆訊。在遙距地點進行遙距聆訊,需使用能與法庭視像會議設施兼容的器材,而有關設施也要能配和法庭的運作要求。

16. 使用視像會議設施的決定:由於視像會議設施的資源有限,可能會出現爭相使用的情況,法官會考慮在他們審理(已獲排期於未來日期)的案件之中,哪些案件可能會適合使用視像會議設施以遙距聆訊的方式來處理。換言之,有關使用視像會議設施的建議,在現階段只能由法庭提出;法官不會受理任何使用視像會議設施的申請。暫時須設此限制是爲確保有限的視像會議設施資源能夠獲得公平和有效的分配,給法庭認爲值得以遙距聆訊進行的案件使用。這項限制日後在適當的時間會獲解除。

17. 法庭可主動提出命令以遙距聆訊的方式來處理案件(《高等法院規則》第 1A 號命令第 4(2)(j)及(k)條規則和第 1B 號命令第 3 條規則適用)。至於哪些聆訊或聆訊的哪部分應使用遙距聆訊的方式來處理,則關乎案件管理方面,法官有完全的酌情決定權。

18. 實際運作時,法庭在作出遙距聆訊命令前,將向訴訟各方提出有關建議或作出這方面的暫准命令。假若訴訟各方不同意法庭的遙距聆訊建議或有關的暫准命令,他們可(通過“不設回覆”的電郵地址,或法庭指示的其他方式)作出書面陳詞,抄送給其他訴訟方,指出他們認爲更合適的其他建議。經法官考慮後,將就處理聆訊的方法作出裁決,並給予所有需要及適當的指示。

19. 在法庭命令進行任何遙距聆訊前,法庭會確定是否有合適的遙距聆訊設施可供使用。儘管法庭會盡量把合適的遙距聆訊安排在原定日期進行,但法庭亦可命令遙距聆訊在有別於原定的聆訊日期及/或時間進行。

20. 使用:當法庭作出遙距聆訊指示後,訴訟各方須與法庭(獲安排進行有關聆訊的法官的書記)聯絡,以便遙距聆訊得以適時及有效率地進行,當中包括處理技術事宜及安排所有必要的器材測試。

21. 法庭須就此目的給予需要及適當的指示。附表 A 夾附的一般指示草擬本,可作指引。

22. 適合進行遙距聆訊的聆訊類別:在原訟法庭,所有非正審申請或上訴均可考慮作遙距聆訊。一般以書面證據處理(即沒有證人親自到庭作證)的最終聆訊,例如司法覆核的申請,亦將列入考慮之列。至於上訴法庭,所有民事上訴及非正審申請,包括上訴許可申請,均可考慮作遙距聆訊。一般來説,適合以視像會議設施進行遙距聆訊的申請,是那些法庭認爲聚焦的口頭陳詞能在兩小時内完成的聆訊。

23. 現時,審訊不獲視爲適合作遙距聆訊的類別。

24. 排期:已排期使用視像會議設施作遙距聆訊的所有聆訊,將列於審訊案件表中,並會顯示相關聆訊將以遙距方式進行。

25. 聆訊時:一般而言,任何參與遙距聆訊人士須負責作出所有需要及附帶的安排,以確保視像會議設施得以順利及有效地使用。例如,所有此等人士應準時到達遙距場地,並與法庭的視像會議設施適時連接,以進行遙距聆訊,而此等人士應事先獲得所有與聆訊有關的文件副本或能夠取覽該等文件。

26. 若聆訊被排期作公開聆訊,即使以遙距聆訊方式進行,出席的大律師及/或訟辯律師應穿著長袍,法官亦然。所有法庭規則及法庭禮儀的習慣將繼續適用(陳詞期間站立或聆訊開始及結束時起立的規定則除外)。

27. 正常情況下,法庭程序會使用數碼錄音及謄寫服務系統作記錄。任何參與者或其他人士,不論是否身在法庭或任何其他遙距地點,均不可用任何方式記錄聆訊。

28. 在符合法官指示的情況下,遙距聆訊將公開進行,公衆人士及媒體都可親身出席。然而,若在特殊的情況下,疫情所帶來的公共衞生威脅令公衆人士或媒體無法出席聆訊,這一般不應成爲阻礙遙距聆訊進行的原因。負責聆訊的法官可決定是否容許、以何種方式及何等程度容許公衆人士或媒體出席遙距聆訊。

29. 訟費:當法庭的視像會議設施須連同由商業單位(例如:提供視像會議服務的電訊商或提供實時法庭記錄及謄本服務的供應商)提供的服務及/或設備一併使用時,希望使用這些服務及/或設備的訴訟各方均有責任直接與這些商業單位作出適當的合約安排,並直接支付有關費用。

30. 使用視像會議設施連同任何一併使用的其他服務及/或設備的費用,將成爲法庭程序訟費的一部分,並受到法官認爲適合的訟費命令所規限。

31. 本指引將於 2020 年 4 月 3 日起生效。本指引可能不時作出修訂,並將繼續生效直至另行通知。

 

日期﹕ 2020 年 4 月 2 日

 

(潘兆初)
高等法院首席法官

 

 


附件 A

HCA xxxx/2020

[案件標題]

因應現時出現之公共衞生危機的特殊情況,本法庭決定上述案件適合使用法庭的視像會議設施進行遙距聆訊。

經自行動議 [及經訴訟各方同意]
法庭命令:

1. 除非法庭另有指示,[傳票日期爲 xxx] [申請日期爲 xxx] 之聆訊,將以遙距聆訊方式進行。

2. 訴訟各方及其代表須參與以法庭的視像會議設施進行的遙距聆訊。

3. 除法庭[及獲准許的謄寫服務者名稱]外,所有人士均不得以任何方式記錄遙距聆訊。

4. 遙距聆訊將於 [日期] [時間] 進行,預計需時 [時間長度]。

5. 法庭將於 [高等法院大樓] / [終審法院大樓] [第 XX 庭]進行遙距聆訊。

6. 遙距聆訊將繼續沿用所有適用的法庭規則或有關法庭裝束及禮儀的習慣,但在聆訊開始、結束或向法庭陳詞時則不須起立。

7. [申請人] / [答辯人] / [其他訴訟方] 須負責 (經 [電話號碼] / [電郵地址] / [其他方式]) 聯絡法庭書記,以安排遙距聆訊所需設施,並預留足夠時間作需要的測試。必須向法庭提供訴訟各方及遙距聆訊所需涉及的各代表的所有合適聯絡詳情。

8. [申請人] / [答辯人] / [其他訴訟方] 必須於 [遙距聆訊進行前的日期和時間] 或之前與法庭及各訴訟方確認遙距聆訊的安排詳情。

9. 聆訊文件冊、論據大綱及案例清單 (連同有關案例副本 [及其他法庭下令需呈交的文件]),必須於 [日期和時間] 之前經 [呈交方式,例如 “不設回覆”電郵地址或電子提交] 提供予法庭。

10. [其他必要指示]

11. [訟費規定]