Click to enter Hong Kong Judiciary Home PageEnglish繁體中文简体中文
Home
Review of 2019
Highlights of events in 2019
List of Judges and Judicial Officers
Caseload, Case Disposal and Waiting Time at Different Court Levels
Membership list of the Civil Justice Reform Monitoring Committee
Membership list of the Working Party on Mediation
Membership list of the Court Users' Committees
Membership list of the Judicial Studies Board
Judiciary Administration
Judicial Training
Number of Visits and Vistors to the Judiciary
Expenditure and Revenue of the Judiciary in 2018-2019
Complaints Against Judges and Judicial Officers
Complaints Against the Judiciary Administration
Photo Gallery
Printer friendly version
for this page|for whole report
 
 
This Report provides an overview of the major events of the Judiciary in 2019.

 
In view of the heavy workload, the Judiciary continued to conduct open recruitment exercises for Judges and Judicial Officers (“JJOs”) at the High Court, District Court and Magistrates’ Courts with a view to tackling the shortfall in judicial manpower.

 
The year saw the passage of the legislative amendments for extending the retirement age of JJOs. An extension of the statutory retirement age for JJOs will encourage recruitment of the best legal talents to the Judiciary, as well as help retain experienced serving JJOs. Furthermore, progress has been made on the proposed legislative amendments to streamline procedures of the High Court and facilitate the more efficient handling of cases, including those relating to non-refoulement claims. We hope that the relevant legislative process will be able to be completed and the streamlined procedures implemented by 2020.

 
The Intellectual Property List of the Court of First Instance of the High Court was established on 6 May 2019. With the setting up of the List, specialist Judges are assigned to handle and better manage intellectual property cases. This will in the long run reduce costs and the time needed for the resolution of this type of dispute.

 
The upsurge in the number of court cases arising from recent events has posed new challenges to the Judiciary. We will try to deal with cases expeditiously and efficiently as far as practicable while at the same time ensuring that they are handled fairly and strictly in accordance with the law.

 
I wish to take this opportunity to thank members of the community, the Government and the Legislative Council for their invaluable support for the work of the Judiciary. I would also like to express my gratitude to my fellow judges and judicial officers, as well as staff in the Judiciary for their dedication and professionalism in the face of increasing challenges.

 
This Report provides statistics on the caseload and waiting times at various levels of court, and other information about the operation of the Judiciary. We hope that you will find this Report useful and gain a better understanding of the work of the Judiciary.

 
 

Geoffrey Ma
Chief Justice

  
back to top
Copyright and Disclaimer
back to top
Level Double-A conformance, W3C WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0

點擊進入香港司法機構主頁English繁體中文简体中文
主頁
2019回顧
2019年大事記要
法官和司法人員名單
各級法院案件量、結案數目以及法院輪候時間
民事司法制度改革監察委員會成員名單
調解工作小組成員名單
法庭使用者委員會成員名單
香港司法人員培訓委員會成員名單
司法機構政務處
司法培訓
參觀司法機構的人數及次數
2018年至2019年度司法機構的開支及收入
有關法官和司法人員的投訴
有關司法機構政務處次數的投訴
圖片集
列印版本
列印此頁|列印整份報告
 
 
本報告概述司法機構於2019年的主要活動。

 
由於工作量繁重,司法機構繼續進行高等法院、區域法院及裁判法院法官及司法人員的公開招聘工作,以解決司法人手不足的問題。

 
提高法官及司法人員退休年齡的法例修訂於本年度獲得通過。提高法官及司法人員的法定退休年齡有助司法機構招聘最優秀的法律人才,以及挽留經驗豐富的現職法官及司法人員。此外,為精簡高等法院的程序和更有效率地處理案件(包括與免遣返聲請有關的案件)而作出的法例修訂建議方面,相關工作已取得進展。我們希望在2020年內,相關立法工作可以完成,以及經精簡的程序得以推行。

 
高等法院原訟法庭自2019年5月6日起設立知識產權案件表。成立案件表的同時,司法機構委派專責法官處理並更妥善地管理知識產權案件。此舉長遠而言可減少解決這類爭議所需的訟費和縮短所需時間。

 
近期事件所產生的法庭案件數目激增,給司法機構帶來新挑戰。我們會盡力在切實可行的情況下,迅速和有效地處理案件,並確保案件嚴格依據法律獲得公平處理。

 
我謹藉此機會,多謝社會大眾、政府及立法會對司法機構工作的寶貴支持。我亦感謝法官及司法人員同僚和司法機構職員,在面對日益俱增的挑戰時依然盡忠職守、專業致志。

 
這份年報列述各級法院案件量和案件輪候時間的統計數字,以及司法機構運作方面的其他資料。我們希望這份年報為你提供有用的資料,讓你對司法機構的工作有更深入的了解。

 

 

終審法院首席法官
馬道立

  
回首頁
 
版權及免責聲明
回首頁
遵守2A級無障礙圖示,萬維網聯盟(W3C)- 無障礙網頁倡議(WAI) Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0